Ohio Concealed Carry FAQ

Ohio residents seeking to concealed carry a firearm face a lot of restrictions. Getting the permit can be difficult enough, but figuring out when a weapon can and cannot be carried can be a nightmare. To help educate people on this issue, we’ve put together a short Ohio concealed carry FAQ.

Q: Do I Need A Permit for Concealed Carry

A: Yes. Ohio is a “Shall Issue” state. You can file a permit application online or with your sheriff’s department. There is a $67 application fee. If you have no lived in the state for at least five years, there is an additional fee to conduct an FBI background check.

Q: When Can I Apply for a Permit?

A: Any Ohio resident can apply for a concealed carry permit so long as they are at least 21 years old and have completed at least 8 hours of firearms training. Service persons do not need to complete the class and pay no application fee.

Additionally, applicants cannot apply if they currently under indictment or charged with a felony. However, they may apply as soon as the charges are dropped.

Q: What Weapons Can I Concealed Carry?

A: Permit holders may conceal handguns and nothing else. Tasers, stun-guns, and pepper spray may also be concealed and do not require a permit.

Q: Can Non-Residents Obtain a Concealed Carry Permit?

B: Yes, but only if they work in Ohio.

Q: Can I Keep a Gun in my Vehicle?

A: Yes, if you have a concealed carry permit. If you do not, the gun must be unloaded and kept in a place not easily reached from the main cabin. Store a firearm as you would store an open container.

Q: Do I Have to Notify a Police Officer?

A: If a police officer stops you, you must advise them whether you are concealed carrying and whether you have a permit. You must also keep your hands in plain view at all times.

Q: Can I Concealed Carry in a Bar or Restaurant?

A: Yes, unless there are signs prohibiting concealed carry. Additionally, you may not consume alcohol while carrying a firearm.

If you were charged with concealed carry violation, you might want to seek legal representation. If you’d like an experienced Dayton criminal defense attorney from Rion, Rion & Rion to evaluate your case, please don’t hesitate to send us an email or call (937) 223-9133.

Why Rion, Rion & Rion?

Schedule a Free Case Evaluation Today

ATTENTION: Due to COVID 19 risks, we are happy to meet with clients by telephone, Facetime, Skype, or any other virtual platform. Please call our office or fill out our Contact Form to set up a meeting time.
  1. 80 Years of Experience
  2. More than 500 Jury Trials Handled
  3. Free Initial Case Evaluation
  4. Available 24/7, 365 Days a Year
  5. 10.0 AVVO Rating
  6. President of the American Board of Criminal Lawyers